I just got a letter from DLSCorp.net in the mail. For $75, they offered to submit my domain name to "25 major search engines".
What a scam.
First of all, the domain name they mentioned in the letter is one that I had never used. It makes me wonder what "eight keyword/phrase listings" they had planned for it. Other than "parked domain", I'm kind of drawing a blank here. Maybe "Oakland" (there isn't any there there).
While I'm calling what I received a "letter", it looked more like an invoice. It did state that it was a solicitation and not a bill but only on the back side. It's quite possible to look at what appears to be an invoice, see the list of services, cost, and where to send the payment without ever seeing that you don't actually owe that money.
They have at least three sites that are basically the same thing: dlscorp.net (Domain Listing Services), domainlistingservices.net, and ilscorp.net (Internet Listing Service Corporation). All have very low Google page rank and none show any back links. It doesn't exactly instill confidence in their ability to generate traffic for a website.
The contact information for DLScorp/ILScorp sites is a UPS store in Chicago. Who knows where it is actually going or who is behind it. I have found blog posts about this scam going back several years. Contact details for the company changes but the format of the "letter" is basically the same.
More here, here, and an article.
Posted by marybeth at March 25, 2008 04:57 PM Internet